Family Date Night Movie Review of Shrek Forever After

Uncategorized

My kids love Shrek. LOVE SHREK. What’s not to love? He’s green, has a healthy appreciation for boogers/farts/disgusting things, and he’s animated. My kids love Shrek to an almost obsessive degree. We have gone through 3 copies of Shrek 2 from over-use and toddler abuse. Let me just say that I love the $5 bins of movies at most chain stores. I can almost ALWAYS find a copy f Shrek 2. Score!

So, when our Saturday Family Date rolled around, I made a visit to my friendly neighborhood Redbox and got a copy of the latest movie in the Shrek series: Shrek Forever After. It seemed like it had a fighting chance at keep my children pacified for at least an hour. That’s long enough for me to digest my Thai peanut noodles so, WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER.

The Husband’s first question when the movie started was, “Was this a straight to DVD movie?” Ouch. He had a point, though. The animation didn’t seem as clean or brilliant as the original Shrek or Shrek 2. (We haven’t seen the Christmas special or Shrek the Third yet so, no Judgy McJudgersons on those ones.)

I didn’t find it as engaging as the first two, but most sequels are usually like that for me. It seems like they use up all their good material in the first movie and it’s all downhill from there. (With the exception of Austin Powers. I don’t care WHAT you say, Goldmember is the funniest movie on the planet. And I say that as a proud Dutch girl. Smoke and a pancake?)

But, it doesn’t really matter what I think of the movie if it puts my children in a TV coma. (Case in point: Wow Wow Wubbzy. I would rather gouge my eyes out than sit and watch that show, but the occasional insertion of DVD works better than a double dose of Benadryl.) The boys seemed mostly engaged by it. Rain Man was a little scared of it because Rumplestiltskin is one creepy-ass ginger. Cereal Killer was more in to it. But, that’s because he loves dark things. (He told me the other day he hates squirrels because “sometimes they have knives”. So, future serial killer? y/y?) The Foodie was uninterested. But, that was more because I had a tub of baba ganouj and some tortilla chips. She spent the entirity of the movie begging for food like a confused golden retriever.

All in all, I’d give it 3 out of 5. It wouldn’t make me suicidal to see it again (Wubbzy, wubbzy! Wow, wow!) but I won’t be running to purchase a copy of it for home.

Leave a Reply

