Reading

Funny Business, parenting fail

Yesterday I had one of my few-and-far-between brilliant ideas.

I took a cheap-o can of shaving cream and squirted it all over my kitchen table. I let the kids smoosh it around and drive toy cars through it. They had a blast playing with it and I knew that when they were done, the shaving cream would wipe off easily and leave my table sparkling clean.

Could it possibly get better?

Well, when we were playing with the shaving cream, I started writing simple words in it and quizzing the boys to see what letters they knew. To my complete surprise, they were reading the words back to me.

Reading! They can read! I was so filled with parental pride that my boys were reading words! I wanted to tell the whole world how brilliant they were.

I washed my hands and went to the phone to call my mother and tell her that I have future MENSA members in my kitchen. I glanced back and caught Rain Man standing on a chair, licking the kitchen window.

That’s more like it.

4 thoughts on “Reading

  1. Teaching them to write in the shaving cream is a fantastic idea. Most boys are Kinesthetic learners (and your boys certainly sound like they fit the profile!). Use as many senses as possible in learning!!

Leave a Reply

