Don’t Stop Thinking About Tomorrow

Uncategorized

We were in the car, going to get groceries. Killer was looking thoughtful in the backseat.

“When I grow up, more than just a big kid, I want to be a worker man,” he said finally.

“What’s a ‘worker man’?” I asked him.

“Oh, you know,” he said. “Someone who fixes stuff and drives a big truck.”

“I wanna be Thomas when I grow up,” piped in Rainy.

All was quiet for a few seconds.

“Uh, no,” said Killer. “We’re talking about when you grow up, not Halloween. You gotta be something real like a worker man or a train conductor.”

I wondered if I should explain to him that the job market for train conductor’s isn’t so great right now, but I let it slide.

“I still just wanna be Thomas the Train,” said Rainy.

I have days like too, kiddo.

Leave a Reply

