Robbie’s Special Pumpkin Bread

Beckwith-Wiedemann Syndrome, Dessert, Recipe For Disaster, Snacks

At the boys’ last ultrasound, it was noticed that one of the boys had an enlarged pancreas. We are still waiting in limbo to find out what exactly that is going to mean for him. They didn’t see a tumor, but it’s always a concern with Beckwith-Wiedemann Syndrome.  While we wait to schedule a battery of tests, I have decided to make a really serious effort to cut out refined sugars and limit our intake of refined and processed foods. In my frantic Googling about the pancreas, I re-learned that the pancreas metabolizes sugars. (I mean, I had to have learned that in Anatomy in college, right? Just shows how much I have purged from my braind since then…) I figure the less junk Robert’s pancreas has to work around, the better. Or something like that. When there isn’t a whole lot you can do for your child and a lot of unknowns lurking in the corners, you cling to whatever you can, I guess. So, cutting out refined sugar it is! Plus, it fits in to our New Year resolutions to eat healthier and stay active.

We weren’t excessive sugar-users to begin with so, it wasn’t so painful, but it has thrown a wrench in my love of baking. I am an old Italian grandmother trapped in the body of a 28 year old Dutch girl. I show my love by baking. If I like you, chances are you will eventually end up with a plate of cookies, a loaf of bread, or a box of truffles.

I really like my kids.

My tried and true favorite recipes almost all call for a cup or more of white sugar. My neurotic crusade against refined sugar took those recipes to task and I have started coming up with some creative ways to still bake treats with more natural sugars . I do keep in mind that my recipes still have sugar in some form in them, though. They aren’t “freebies”, but they are yummy little treats that I don’t feel AS guilty about making for my little men (and lady).

Tonight I threw together a pumpkin bread that I modified from our old stand-by recipe (filled with butter and sugar and everything else we are cutting down on!) and it came out fantastic. It was nice and dense and full of spices. The kids didn’t notice that it contained no refined sugar, no eggs, no dairy, and no gluten! I don’t think my husband would have noticed either but, he saw me snacking on it and he knows what I can and cannot eat. Haha! This recipe is quick and can be re-modified to use a wheat flour and eggs if you so choose. It’s delicious warm with a nice cup of tea. (I apologize for not giving any pictures. My camera is on the fritz and we ate the loaf too quick to make any pretty photos anyhow!) In honor of my son’s pancreas, I named it after him. The son. Not the pancreas. “Pancreatic Pumpkin Bread” does NOT sound appetizing. At all.

 

Robbie’s Special Pumpkin Bread

preheat oven to 350*

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C honey
  • 1/4 C oil
  • 1/4 C applesauce
  • 2 eggs*
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon + more for garnish
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • t tsp vanilla
  • 2 C pumpkin**
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 C flour (Bob’s Red Mill GF baking mix was what we used)
  • optional: 1/2 C chocolate chips, raisins, dried cranberries, walnuts

* 2 flax eggs or any commercial egg replacer can replace the eggs. (1 tbsp flaxmeal+2tbsp water= 1 “flax egg”)

**We used fresh pumpkin. If you use canned, you may want to add 1/3 C juice or water to the mixture as it has much less liquid in it.

Cream together the wet ingredients (including flax eggs if you are using those). Sift the dry in to the wet and mix until combined. Fold in and nuts, berries, or chocolate chips if using them.

Pour in to a greased loaf pan. (One large or three small pans.) Sprinkle with cinnamon.

Bake at 350* for 50 minutes.

Allow to cool, slice, and serve!

 

Let me know if you try it and like it!

To your health,

-t

Leave a Reply

