Fudgy Brownies

Recipe For Disaster, Uncategorized

I love to bake for my family, but I also love sleep. Since going back to work, I have had a really hard time accomplishing both of those things in any given week. In fact, I am not entirely sure I have had a full night of sleep in the past five years.

Well, I haven’t found the secret to uninterrupted sleep (unless it’s now legal to lock toddlers in kennels overnight. Is it? Please?) but I HAVE found the easiest, cheaty-est way to make a super dessert for the family with minimal time investment and maximum chocolate yum. It might even be healthy…ish.

I now present to you the embarrassingly simple, yet delicious, secret I have been hording:

Fudgy Brownies

1 box brownie mix (I like any mix that advertises itself as fudgy, rich, chewy, or infarction-inducing)

1 can of pureed pumpkin

cinnamon

No, seriously. That’s it. Pour the mix in to a bowl and ignore the instructions on the box. Add the pumpkin to the dry mix and stir well. Pour it in to a well-greased 8×8 or 9×9 pan and bake for the time and temperature specified on the box. When it comes out of the oven, sprinkle cinnamon on top and let cool completely before cutting and serving. One could, I guess, throw some chocolate chips on top to get all yummy and melty at this point, too. You know, if you like that sort of thing…

Since these brownies come out ridiculously rich and gooey, I cut them in to pretty small pieces. I usually yield about 25 pieces. (Mom bonus: That’s under 100 calories per brownie AND it has fiber and stuff from the pumpkin. WORD.)

Cliffs Notes Version: Super easy. Almost could be called healthy. YUMMY. And it’ll take you only a half an hour so you can get out and see if there are any industrial locks for your bedroom. Once you have the baking down, you may as well start working on the sleep.

2 thoughts on “Fudgy Brownies

Leave a Reply

