Boing!

Uncategorized

Trivia: We live just moments from the world’s largest wooden dome. (Well, I think we do. The record may belong to someone else now, but it was the largest in 1991. But, that’s really not the point…)

The Superior Dome hosted an event this weekend that involved putting as many bounce houses and inflatable activities as possible inside the dome and then charging parents as much as possible so their kids could wear themselves out by jumping for 3 hours straight.

You better believe we went.

Looks like fun, right?

The boys were in heaven. They bounced and climbed and rode every ride available, found friends from school and hockey to play with, and had an all-around awesome time.

Enormous sand box!

It was going so well, I forgot. You ever forget? I forget. I forgot. It…definitely ended our day rather abruptly.

See that guy? That’s Wildcat Willy. He’s the mascot of Northern Michigan University. They own and operate the Superior Dome. So, I guess it shouldn’t have been too surprising that he came to visit all the kids at the bounce houses.

Robert refers to Wildcat Willy as “Evil Satan Cat Man”.

Or, to put it another way, Robert wasn’t very enthused to see Wildcat Willy and had little interest in having his picture taken with him. I knew he used to hate all costumed interpreters, but I thought we might have grown out of that by now.

Wrong.

Robert’s friend saw Willy and went to go say hi, so I turned to Robert and asked if he wanted to go, too.

Robert took off at full speed in the opposite direction. His shoes ended up with his friend’s mom as I sprinted after him. He’s a fast little monkey and could duck and weave through the throngs of people waiting in lines, taking pictures, eating popcorn…. But, I am significantly larger and much less coordinated.

To the half-dozen people I hip-checked while running down my kid, I am sorry.

I eventually caught up to Robert after he squirreled up to the top of the bleachers. He was literally as far from Willy as physically possibly while still being in the building.

It was definitely time to leave.

As we left, Robert grumbled from the back of the van, “Ooh, I hate that Evil Cat.”

Brandon tried to explain that it’s NMU’s biggest rival, the Huskies, who are evil, but until he runs in to that mascot, he won’t believe a word of it.

We better get on that or he might become a Tech fan. Blech! 😉

3 thoughts on “Boing!

  1. We can identify! When preparing for a trip to Walt Disney, FL – my daughter (then 8 yrs old) told me she was NOT going to hug Mickey or Minnie because, “mom, people in costumes like that creep me out!”

  2. I’m so glad it’s not just our family. Our 6 y-o has the same irrational fear of ANYONE dressed in any type of costume. I could be in the same room as her, let her watch me, put on any costume while she is watching and she would STILL freak out! It’s gotten to the point of ticking me off it’s so irrational. But hey, I guess that’s why they call them irrational fears.

Leave a Reply

