The Cracker Monster

Uncategorized

Aili is trying to perfect the art of being sneaky.

Yesterday I had left a box of graham crackers on the counter in the kitchen. Aili is a little hawk-eye for snacks and spotted those crackers right away. She wanted them. Lots.

I watched her creep in to the kitchen.

“What are you doing?” I asked.

“Nuffin’!”

Right. I totally believe that.

A few seconds later she came creeping out of the kitchen with one hand behind her back and an enormous smile on her face.

“What did you do?” I asked.

“Nuffin’!” she replied, keeping that hand firmly behind her back.

“What’s in your hand? Show me what you have,” I said, waiting for the graham cracker to appear.

“Hold on,” she said. She started backing out of the room so she wouldn’t risk turning and allowing me to see the prize in her hand.

“Do you have a graham cracker?” I asked her before she could back in to any more furniture or walls. (The backing out of the room seemed like a good idea, but she doesn’t have very good spacial awareness.)

Aili stopped moving and looked at me suspiciously.

“If you took a graham cracker, it’s okay. You can eat it,” I told her.

I figured out dilemma would end here, but Aili is getting way too smart. She began again on her backwards trek to the kitchen, still unwilling to show me the cracker.

As soon as she got through the kitchen doorway, however, she whipped it out from behind her back and stuffed it in her mouth. All in plain view of the living room.

Our eyes met and I considered asking her what it was, exactly, that just happened here. But, then I remembered a true master spy will never reveal all their secrets or divulge their master plan. Also, I should probably put that box of graham crackers away before it mysteriously disappears.

2 thoughts on “The Cracker Monster

  1. Ha – that’s great!
    careful where you hide it – my mother once found 4 year old me on top of the refrigerator trying to get to the “safely hidden” cookies.

Leave a Reply

