The 30 Jar

Uncategorized

It’s my birthday today! Yay! When I was little, I hated having my birthday so close to Mother’s Day but, now that I am a mom, it’s pretty awesome to sometimes get 2 days of pampering in a row.

Well, I just realized that I am now officially less than one year away from being 30.

30!

I have accomplished a lot in my first 29 years. I’ve graduated college, I have gotten married, I have had three hilarious children, I have a job that I enjoy, and that is no small feat. But, I have a lot that I want to accomplish before my 30th birthday. I want to own a home, I want to run a marathon, I want to do things I have never done before.

I thought about making a bucket list of things to do, but that sounded too terminal. It’s not like I am going to croak once I blow out the candles next year. (Well, I MIGHT, but it’s certainly not my goal.) I also don’t want to limit myself to what was on my list. So, I am going to start with a blank slate. An empty jar is sitting on the counter, waiting to be filled with things I have done.

So, that’s what I am going to do. In an effort to be a better person and a better mom, I am going to do something new every day. 365 days of newness. I am going to put those things in my jar as I go and write about them as well.

I look forward to starting this project and sharing all my new ideas. 🙂

Also, holy crap. I’m 29.

 

3 thoughts on “The 30 Jar

  1. I’ve got the same love/hate. My birthday is May 9. Last year it was Mother’s Day. I’m not always sure I like having two celebrations so close together. I usually just get one gift and feel a little cheated.

Leave a Reply

