Be Spontaneous

Uncategorized

I wasn’t exactly sure what I was going to do for my first day of the Thirty Jar, but that was okay. Aili decided for me.

I had taken her to the YMCA for some quality play time and after we were done, she asked to take a walk. We are usually over-scheduled because I work, the kids have activities, and there just aren’t enough hours in the day. But it was a lazy day. We had time. So, we did something new. We were spontaneous and took a walk without a destination.

A destination found us, though. We ended up playing on the shores of Lake Superior. Sand got in places I didn’t know I had, but it was entirely worth it.

I recently read an article about how to miss a childhood. We try to keep certain times in our day, like dinner, technology-free. But I think we can all do a better job of staying un-connected so we can BE connected. My spontaneous walk with Aili reminded me of how important catching these little moments really are. I forgot that a beach is a new and exciting experience for a three year old who had just trudged through a long, snowy winter.

 

Thanks, Aili!

3 thoughts on “Be Spontaneous

  1. I miss Lake Superior! Someday, we’re gonna vacation there again. 🙂 I hope Aili liked dipping her fingers and toes into the clear water. And thanks for the blog share, that is an amazing read. I hope my cell phone or technology never beats my child for my attention. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

