Song Time With Aili

Funny Business

My children are suckers for commercials. I didn’t realize how bad it was until I tried to inform my daughter that the words to her song did not start with, “Oh! McDonald’s.” It was a rather heated debate, in fact.

Regardless of our difference of opinion on the lyrics, Aili loves to sing “Old Mac Donald Had a Farm”. But, as with most things, it has to be done in her very specific way.

First, she needs to have complete control over which animal we sing about. She claps her hand over my mouth as soon as I sing, “And on that farm he….” because she will not have any competition when it comes to which animal comes next. And heaven help you if you help her with suggestions.

Also, only certain animals may be on Old Mac Donald’s farm. Her list of acceptable animals is as follows:

  • Horse
  • Flying Horse
  • Unicorns
  • Another Horse
  • A Flower
  • A Flower and a Bee
  • 2 Horses
  • All The Flying Horses

Clearly, Old Mac is a big fan of equines. And flowers are animals. Fun fact: In the song, A Flower says, “Neigh neigh!”. At least, that’s what Aili insists.

E-I-E-I-O.

Leave a Reply

