Aili Cyrus

Uncategorized

Last week after dance class, I was getting Aili ready to go. We had to make sure we had all our ballet slippers and other various items packed away before we left. Since the studio has a very open plan, we could hear the music the teacher had put on for the girls that have class right after Aili. It looked like it may have been a modern dance class and the girls in that class were much older. Aili watched them all with great interest and her face lit up when she heard the warm-up song playing over the sound system.

“Mama! I know this song! I know this dance!” she said excitedly.

I got immediately nervous because the song that was playing was ‘Wrecking Ball’ by Miley Cyrus. I’ve seen that music video and I wasn’t about to ask what the dance was. I was just hoping we could just escape without incident.

Before I could say, “twerk”, Aili launched herself at the push bar of the studio’s front door. She hung on for dear life as the door swung open and closed while Miley wailed, “I came in like a wrecking ball…” in the background.

I wasn’t sure if I should laugh or cry. She did know the dance to ‘Wrecking Ball’.

How the heck did she learn THAT?!

Leave a Reply

