Parent Teacher Conferences: Round 1

Funny Business, parenting fail

Three kids means three separate parent-teacher conferences. I am not sure why I am just realizing this because, honestly, if I would have thought of this sooner, I might not have children. There is just something about a one-on-one with a teacher that gives me anxiety. I was terrified of them when I was a student and now I am terrified as a parent. I was always a pretty good kid in school. I felt I was above homework at times which lead to conflict, but I wasn’t a trouble maker so, I am not really sure why the concept of talking to a teacher petrifies me so much. One time in high school I was sent to the principal’s office and immediately started crying in fear. He was baffled by my reaction because I was called in to receive the Student of the Week award. So, to put it lightly, I was not thrilled when we got three notes home about the impending conferences.

I made my husband take the first one because even though I am pretty sure Aili is a good girl at school and her teachers are the sweetest, nicest ladies in the world, I would rather pour Purell in a papercut than go to see them for a conference.

Brandon came home and handed me a bumper sticker with the preschool’s logo on it.

“How did it go?” I asked nervously.

Apparently, it went like this:

“How’s she doing?”
“She’s at the top of the class. Absolutely ready for kindergarten.”
“Any problems?”
“She doesn’t like to share sometimes.”
“I know.”
“No other problems really.”
“So I guess we’re done then?”
“Take a decal for your car.”

Well, that was a relief. Also, I should have gone to that one because now I know I definitely can’t worm out of going to at least one of the twins’ conferences.

Crap.

Leave a Reply

