A Delicate Little Flower

Uncategorized

I was cradling my daughter last night. She was tired, but not yet convinced that going to bed was a sound option for her so she was cuddling in my arms with a quilt pulled up to her chin. She was looking at me in a way only a child who doesn’t yet know that their parent has flaws can. Her wide, blue eyes were full of admiration. She looked so sweet and innocent. A little smile played on her lips as she snuggled closer.

I stroked her hair and took in every detail of her tiny face. She looked like a perfect, porcelain doll.

“You are so beautiful,” I whispered to her.

She let a huge fart rip in response. Her innocent, lovely looking face didn’t change it’s expression, but the little giggle she let out reminded me how looks can be deceiving.

Leave a Reply

