The Little Goalie

Uncategorized

Last night was Robert’s night. It was his first night in the goalie pads. To say he was excited would be a severe understatement.

We got there early because I wasn’t sure how long it would take me to get him in the pads. It wasn’t actually as hard as I thought it was going to be. The only awful part was the buckles because they were very stiff. I caught parts of my fingers in most of them and have a healthy crop of blood blisters on my thumbs as a result. (I was proud that despite yanking off chunks of my hand in the buckles, nary a foul word was loosed. I thought every cuss imaginable and some that I am pretty sure I just invented, but I kept them all to myself.) Another issue, I need to bring Robert a book or something while I am getting his pads on. He can only handle laying on the floor while I fight with the straps so long before he gets bored and starts trying to turn his head Exorcist-style to see what’s going on. Eventually we got them on and, thankfully, I did them right because nothing got loose or fell off.

Robert loved the pads and was pumped to get on the ice. Usually during practices he kind of stands around “picking daisies”. But, for the most part, he was focused and raring to go. (I say “for the most part” because there was one moment when I looked at the ice and he was laying down, trying to pick up his stick. The goalie mitts aren’t as flexible and easy to work with as his regular ones so, he had quite an epic struggle when he dropped his stick.) He even stopped some pucks! I was really impressed with his progress. I don’t know if this is his niche, but he sure had a great time and was asking when his next practice was going to be.

1477536_10100539654545167_1422247144_n

Leave a Reply

