1 out of 3 Ain’t Bad?

Uncategorized

2/3 of the children in my house had a Bad Night last night.

Aili had her ballet open house. From the second it started, I could tell it was going to be a disaster. She acts goofy when she knows I am watching her. And since the studio is about the size of a shoe box, she knew I was watching her. If I was any closer to her, she would have been sitting in my lap.

She was making goofy faces to me and refusing to dance. At first I thought she was just being a stinker so, I put my nose to my finger. That is our sign for, “Pay attention to your teacher and do what she asks.” When I did that, Aili’s face crumbled. To make matters worse, the teacher had us clap for her to encourage her to do her dance across the floor like all the other little girls did. Well, that made her burst in to tears.

So, instead of watching Aili do her cute little dance, she sat on my lap in an uncomfortable folding chair and cried for 45 minutes.

Not a success.

Robert had an equally disappointing night. He was out at Suicide Hill for ski jumping. Inexplicably, he’s gotten worse at it since he started. So, he spent the evening being frustrated that he couldn’t keep his skis from crossing.

Peter, on the other hand, had a splendid evening. He has a natural talent for all things athletic and ski jumping is no exception. On his second night ever on skis, he took his first real jump. He shocks me with how easy it is for him to do things like that. Robert, Aili, and I have a severe lack of raw athletic talent. If we work really, really hard at something, we’ll be okay at it. Maybe. But, just picking something up and being suddenly proficient? Nope.

So, Peter was flying high last night literally and figuratively. He came home and told me all about it.

“It was white-hot fast, mom!” he gushed.

Considering how thrilled Peter was and how everyone mellowed out after having a snack at home, one out of three really wasn’t TOO bad.

 

Leave a Reply

