The Weekend Adventure, the end

Uncategorized

Early on Sunday, I got up to use the bathroom. When I opened the bathroom door to leave, Robert was standing there like the twins in The Shining. I, of course, screamed and he stood there looking at me like I had lost my mind.

“I wanna get breakfast,” he mumbled.

I forgot how much Robert loves continental breakfast. His favorite things about hotels are pools and breakfast. But, it was so early in the morning, I wasn’t even sure if they were serving breakfast yet.

We toddled down to the breakfast area while the rest of the family slept. Robert charged ahead in his footie pajamas with his hair sticking up wildly. He didn’t care. He was on a mission. We have stayed at this hotel before and he knows they have not just cereals but a full spread including scrambled eggs, muffins, yogurt, sausages, and a Belgian waffle maker with all the trimmings.

Sure enough, when we got there, they were still setting up and the waffle iron was barely warmed. Robert didn’t care. He loaded up his plate, had me help him make a waffle, and started packing away the food. I blearily drank some coffee and tried to stay conscious.

As soon as Robert was done eating, he insisted we go to the pool. At 5:30 in the morning. Good Lord. I camped out in a lounge chair on the pool deck and let him go crazy. It was almost peaceful so, I knew something was going to blow up soon.

Sure enough, a few minutes later, Aili came pelting in to the pool room….butt naked. How she escaped the hotel room without anyone noticing her is beyond me. I herded her back to put on a swim suit and then she joined the swimming fun.

At around 8am, everyone was up, swimming, and fed in some capacity so we decided to start packing up. We we planning on doing some shopping and have one more stop in Green Bay to eat at my favorite fast food-ish joint. (Welcome to Moe’s!)

By 9:30am we were packed and out the door, but not without Robert marking his territory one last time. Considering there was a bathroom in the hotel room, one in the lobby, and one in the pool area, Robert took a different route and peed outside. In front of the hotel. Pointing towards someone’s open window. While they were in the room. Watching him.

I mean, of course. How else do you cap off a fun birthday weekend?

1011030_10100595572130877_542209728_n

One thought on “The Weekend Adventure, the end

Leave a Reply

