and the winner is…

Uncategorized

Autism.

Robert saw his doctor again yesterday and was given the “soft” diagnosis of Autism Spectrum. Soft because they aren’t entirely sure that is the root of the problem, but they need to give him some kind of diagnosis in order for him to qualify for further services.

I have mixed feelings about this. I don’t want this to be a crutch. “Oh, he has autism, we won’t expect much from him…” That’s never true about any child, but I worry that people still think like that. I also am not keen on sticking him with another label. I don’t want him growing up with people thinking he is dumb or broken because someone told someone else that he was Autistic so he must also be stupid or handicapped or whatever. I know these things aren’t true, but I am not sure that everyone else does.

On the other hand, it’s nice to kind of know what is going on. I may not be able to “fix” all the behaviors right away, but at least I know there is an explanation other than, “this child is out of control!” As Bill Murray would say, at least I have that going for me.

Now we just have to wait and see what the next step will be. Probably a behavior plan and possibly medication. I am already looking for a fight with medication. I may sometimes believe my 7 year old is a psycho, but I never think he needs an anti-psychotic medication. So, I am hoping we can work this out before that becomes a suggestion that I have to veto.

So, this is where we go next..

3 thoughts on “and the winner is…

  1. Well, that’s not a total surprise, is it? Although that “soft” diagnosis can still leave lots of room for anxious wondering. But I’m so glad you can obtain further services now. I hope they turn out to be just what Robert needs.

Leave a Reply

