Lucky

Uncategorized

Last night I had the honor of going to a “lock-up” for the Muscular Dystrophy Association. I brought some donations from work and met some pretty amazing kids.

I met a kid, let’s call him “Joe”. Joe was wheelchair bound and about the same age as my twins. He immediately fell in love with the 4 foot long stuffed horse we donated and I would not be surprised to learn that the horse ended up following him home that night. He had an incredible smile and sweet personality. He even spoke in front of the whole crowd, thanking them for sending kids like him to summer camp. His poise and maturity spoke of how much he has had to endure. I felt immediately blessed. My kids have their health issues, but very few of them will hinder them for their whole lives.

Joe beamed as he talked about how fun the inclusive therapy camp was. He drew a picture that was up on the wall about how he made friends for life. I was proud to say I had been a part of the efforts to raise money to find a cure and send more kids like Joe to therapy camp.

If you can, please donate to the MDA! And I hope “Joe” enjoys his horse.

Leave a Reply

