Gluten-free Friday 6: Cookies!!

Uncategorized

This week, I was tasked with making treats for class parties. Usually, this is a simple task. I make a batch of cupcakes that are somehow thematically related to the upcoming party. But, with Robert going gluten-free, this posed a new challenge. GF cupcake mixes are ridiculously expensive and I wasn’t sure how tasty they would be. Some gluten-free cake is, let’s be fair, better used for a doorstop. After experiencing the yummy chocolate chip cookie mix (let’s pretend I have already gotten to that one here…), I figured it would be safe to give Ms. Crocker another try and try to make sugar cookies for Robert’s class.

For once in my life, I actually stuck to the recipe on the box for the Betty Crocker Gluten-free Sugar Cookie mix and, wouldn’t you know it, they came out beautifully.

The cookies bake up soft and sweet. They had a wonderful texture so I knew they would be perfect to take to school. None of the other kids would even notice these were gluten-free!

1797449_10100648023462987_983829947628128529_nAlso, they shaped up perfectly to look like bunny butts. Come on. You know that made you laugh a little.

After all that work, it’s an understatement to say that I was disappointed to find out school was cancelled due to snow on party day…

 

Leave a Reply

