The Audition

Uncategorized

Last night Aili made it clear that she wanted to audition for a local children’s theatre production.

Honestly, I couldn’t come up with any reason to tell her “no”, so Istarted working with her for her audition.

“You’re going to have to sing them a song,” I guided her.

She quickly chose a song from Frozen. Of course. I bet money that we will hear at least 3 versions of every single song from that movie at this audition. But, it’s a little early to start telling her which audition songs are clear faux pas so I let it slide.

Then, she wanted to practice the song. I told her she had to pretend I was the director and she was to sing loudly to me while standing very still. And don’t forget to smile!

The music started and she looked at me with confidence. There was that big smile! Her cue to sing was coming up….

Suddenly she began to leap and lurch around the room in a wild interpretive dance while singing the song at the top of her lungs. We can smile. We can sing loudly. Standing still is just too much to ask.

Also, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree…

One thought on “The Audition

Leave a Reply

