Graduation Day

Uncategorized

I tend to roll my eyes at “graduation ceremonies” for every grade of school. Like, “Congratulations! You have a certificate showing you got through kindergarten! Now you get to go to school for at least 12 more years!” I mean, this is more of a “moving on” time and less of a “You are done!!” time. Making a big show of passing every single grade is overkill, if you ask me.

No one ever asks me.

And since no one ever asks me, I am now obligated to attend my daughter’s preschool graduation. The boys went to a different preschool so, they didn’t make a big deal out of not failing to move to the next grade. This is my first/last preschool graduation ceremony. I want to roll my eyes at this. We’re putting these little squirts in paper plate hats and having them march around and sing graduation songs. Ridiculous!

I am totally going to bawl like a baby and take a quarter of a million pictures. No doubt about it.

3 thoughts on “Graduation Day

  1. There is acutally such thing as Graduation songs?? I’m pretty sure there aren’t any in Germany. Here Graduation is only celebrated when you finish school. We dress up, get our diploma and have a huge party. Finishing preschool, kindergarten or elementary school only means having a nice little party or going on a field trip. Well it least it used to be that way when I was young…

    1. Like Brandon said, we have a few songs traditionally used at graduation. And the kids sang for us songs about what they learned this year.

      I remember graduation in Germany. Abi Tag was absolutely nuts at the school I was studying at. The whole school had a wild party and I remember being shocked and amazed that the teachers were all sitting around having beers while the students were going crazy!

Leave a Reply

