Surgery in St Louis Part 7

Uncategorized

It was two days after surgery and we still had a couple more days until we could fly out. I was bound and determined to give the boys a little bit of fun during this trip to make it a vacation for them….in a roundabout way.

One of my co-workers had clued me in to the St Louis City Museum.

10565013_10100765812178457_4165669572669090156_n

It was exactly as it was described to me: a wild fun house that was awesome for kids AND adults.

It was like MC Escher threw up in here

It was like MC Escher threw up in here

The design was beautiful and bizarre. I kept looking around for David Bowie in a codpiece. Yes, I was looking around hopefully.

And there were sharks!

And there were sharks!

There was an aquarium inside the museum (yes, it’s THAT BIG) that had sharks and other sealife. Peter spent most of his time in the hospital watching Shark Week on Discovery so, he was absolutely entranced by the shark tank.

How cute, Satan!

How cute, Satan!

And then there was the most evil looking otter I have ever seen. He was kicking his cute widdle paws at the glass and biting at it with his cute widdle mouth….because he clearly wanted to give us all love and chew our faces off.

Pictures don't do this justice.

Pictures don’t do this justice.

It was an absolutely amazing place. Floor upon floor of wonders. But, the boys were still recovering and pooped out fast.

Real fast.

Real fast.

So, we unfortunately didn’t get to stay very long, but it was worth it. After the museum, we drove around town while the boys napped in the car.

The Scott Joplin House!

The Scott Joplin House!

The historical music geek in me was real sad we couldn’t stay and go in. But, the boys were just exhausted by this point.

The Arch!

The Arch!

This was as close as we could get to the Arch. As you can see, there was tons of construction. There were signs proclaiming the arch was still open, but I think they were meant as satire. I mean, I never actually found where to go to get to it and my GPS was kind of a jerk. It kept taking me in circles and once I was out of downtown, it kept suggesting I go to and through Ferguson. Uh, no thanks…

Leave a Reply

