Surgery in St Louis part 9

Uncategorized

As Peter would say: It was our last full day in St Louis… or was it?  He is really in to the ominous add-ons right now. I’m not sure why.

Anyhow, I decided it was time to do something I desperately wanted to do. When I was little, I dreamed of being a geologist. But, after years of being bad at math, I was dissuaded from being in science. So, that dream fell away but it never stopped me from being completely fascinated by rocks and minerals. When I heard that the Meramec Caverns were just a short drive from St. Louis, I couldn’t resist. I HAD to go.

So, in the morning, I piled the boys in the car, popped a DVD on for them and took a nice, leisurely drive out of town. Missouri has some nice countryside, let me tell you. And the drivers are so much nicer than in other parts of the country. If you want to change lanes and put on a turn signal, someone will make room for you. It is definitely not like that in some other places I have visited or lived.

After about an hour of driving, we were there. The boys weren’t initially impressed, but they were quite enamoured by the lazy river cruise. Since it was already back-to-school time in Missouri, we were the only ones wanting to take a boat ride and the boys were the only kids in the area. The boat captain was a real sweetheart and even let Peter drive!

He could barely see over the console, but he loved driving us up the river!

He could barely see over the console, but he loved driving us up the river!

It was a wonderfully relaxing ride where we say turtles, deer, and even a blue heron.

It was significantly closer than it appears...

It was significantly closer than it appears…

After the boat ride, I BEGGED the boys to go on the guided tour of the caverns. I was a little worried it would be too much walking for them but even if we made it only 5 minutes, I would have been satisfied. Because this was inside:

Ooooh.

Ooooh.

Aah!

Aah!

There are only 2 formations like this in the entire world and I was 3 inches from one of them!

There are only 2 formations like this in the entire world and I was 3 inches from one of them!

Trust me when I say I have about a thousand more pictures of the caverns that I could bombard you with. I will restrain myself.

The boys enjoyed the tour because there was no complaining and they made it through the whole thing without getting too worn out. At the end there was even a light show that really fascinated the kids.

How patriotic!

How patriotic!

It was worth the drive and the convincing to go out to the caverns. I was over the moon with my geological nerding.

And bonus, the boys took a nap in the van the whole way back.

They were still struggling a little with getting enough to drink and they still weren’t able to eat any soft solids, but that’s okay. We were going home the next day, right???

 

 

Leave a Reply

